RSS Feed

Gluten Free Granola (Ste Anne’s Imitation)

Gluten Free Granola

There isn’t a better place on earth. There isn’t. Ste Anne’s Spa, in Grafton Ontario is such a great escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. I try to justify a trip there as many times a year as I can. Just 90 minutes outside Toronto this heavenly spa is staffed with the friendliest, most thorough staff that waits on you while you lounge your day away in bath robes and slippers, sip organic tea and eat five star gourmet meals. You also have access to an endless supply of their homemade granola…and that brings us to today’s post. I have all these nuts at home to use so I was googling to find a recipe. I love the one at Ste Anne’s Spa, so I started with that. I came across this website: http://memyselfandfood.com/2011/06/going-gaga-for-gluten-free-granola/ so I used this as a starter. I made a couple little changes, more cinnamon and nutmeg, no cloves and added some sesame… here is my recipe:

1 cup of each: Chopped pecans; Slivered Almonds; Pumpkin Seed; Halved Almonds (I just chopped full ones since I have a big bag from Costco); Sunflower Seeds; and Shredded Coconut.

¼ cup sesame seeds
¼ cup butter
¼ cup honey
2 tbsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and stir well. Mean time, over low heat, melt the butter and slowly stir in the honey. Pour the honey and butter mixture over the dry ingredients and mix until evenly coated. Spread the contents over a baking sheet covered with parchment (this time I was out of parchment paper so I baked it in a 9 ½ x 11 dish). Bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes, stir halfway so it doesn’t burn. Let cool completely and then store in an airtight container. Enjoy!

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

Leave a Reply

