RSS Feed

Homemade Baked Jalapeño Poppers

 Baked jalapeno popper
Mike loves jalapeño poppers but I refuse to buy greasy pre-made treats from the freezer isle of the grocery store, unless absolutely necessary (ie. I am trying to convince him to take me on a trip). My mom had been facilitating his addiction to these cheesy spicy treats by getting them from a little farmers market outside of a small town called Port Perry. Since they were “homemade jalapeño poppers” I let it slide occasionally.  We went to a party over the holidays and someone had brought jalapeño stuffed with cheese wrapped in bacon, which convinced me I could just make them myself and they would be healthier. Below is my recipe, its really easy, the only problem is it’s a little time consuming to do the breading step for an impatient cook as myself, especially when they are eaten in all of two minutes. But they are worth it. This makes 12 poppers, which could be enough for as many as 4 people for an appetizer… 4 people or 1 Mike.

6 fresh medium sized jalapeño, stem cut off, sliced in half lengthwise and deseeded
½ cup light cream cheese softened
¼ cup of 2% cheddar cheese shredded (monetary jack, marble etc. all work great!)
1 egg + 2 tbsp water whisked together (or egg white substitute)
½ cup whole grain bread crumbs
½ tsp cayenne, garlic powder and onion powder

Prep the jalapeños by cutting off the top where the stem is, slicing in half lengthwise and removing the seeds to create two boats for each jalapeño. In a bowl mix together cayenne pepper, softened cream cheese and shredded cheese. Put one spoonful of mixture inside each jalapeño boat. In another bowl whisk egg and water together to create egg wash. Dip prepared jalapeño into egg wash then roll into breadcrumbs (on a plate or shallow bowl). Put finished popper onto stone or cookie sheet lined with tin foil. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Serve hot (careful) with a side of sour cream or plain yogurt for dipping. Enjoy!

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

2 responses »

  1. To make these gluten free you could just grind up some gluten free bread – ooooh I have some gluten free corn bread – mmmmmmmm

    Reply
  2. Courtney Carroll - Real Estate

    Great news!!! When I was making these this time I tried a few of them without the breading – this saved the step of the egg wash and breading – we liked them just as much but they were a little spicier without the offsetting of the breading. Lazy days I will do it this way for sure – or if anyone is doing a low carb diet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

