RSS Feed

Yogurt Banana Bread

Yogurt Banana Bread
This is my first attempt at creating a baked good recipe. Usually I start with a recipe and make my alterations for a healthier treat – but never to start from scratch. Next time I am going to bake it without any of the butter, I don’t think it needs it, and I think I will bake it at 350 degrees or just for longer. I was in a bit of a rush so I had to take it out at an hour and it was slightly undercooked in the middle. But other than that it was good. 

Ingredients: 

1 cup white sugar
1/4 cup apple sauce
3 tablespoons butter
2 eggs
3 ripe bananas mashed
1 cup plain yogurt (or sour cream)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
½ cup chocolate chips (optional – though why wouldn’t you?)

Topping: 

1 tbsp white sugar
½ tbsp cinnamon
3 tbsp oatmeal 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease two medium inch loaf pans.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar, then add in applesauce. Mix in eggs, mashed bananas, yogurt, vanilla and cinnamon. In a separate bowl mix together salt, baking soda and flours.  Add dry ingredients into wet. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips. Divide into prepared pans. Sprinkle with topping mixture.

Bake for 60 minutes, until a toothpick/knife comes out clean. Enjoy!

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

One response »

  1. It was “Fudge approved”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

