RSS Feed

Mediterranean Couscous Salad

Mediterranean salad with couscous quinoa and orzo

Mediterranean salad with couscous quinoa and orzo

I was looking for a light and nutritious side dish to serve with a chicken dinner and asparagus that would also work as the main for myself (vegetarian). I had this Mediterranean mix my mom bought from the States while she was there. It was a mix of couscous, quinoa, orzo and red lentils. I decided to cook that up and make a salad.

Ingredients:

Salad:
3 cups cooked and cooled couscous and/or quinoa and/or orzo
1 cup washed cherry tomatoes sliced in halves
Small handful of fresh basil chopped up
Small bunch of green onions cut up
¼ cup of feta cheese diced

Dressing:
1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar
A few splashes of red wine vinegar (I did this at the end to get more distance out of the dressing, could just do more balsamic)
¼ cup of olive oil
1 tablespoon of honey
Garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

So I cooked the package as the directions say. If you were doing this at home I would cook up just couscous/quinoa/orzo or combination of, as directed and let cool.

Mix in all of the ingredients for the salad. In a separate dish mix together dressing ingredients until honey is well dissolved.

Drizzle over salad and mix. Let sit in the refrigerator (if you can – its addictive!) for a couple hours and serve. Amazing side dish, great on its own, or on top of spring mix with a little extra balsamic vinegar. Love this! Enjoy!

___

I am going to try this again soon with just a mix of couscous and quinoa to see if it tastes the same. I am sure it will….

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

Leave a Reply

