RSS Feed

Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Icing

Image

What is more festive for St Patrick’s day then these? Chocolate cupcakes made with Guinness and topped with mint icing with Bailey’s? And they were delicious.

I followed the recipe on epicurious.com (www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Chocolate-Stout-Cake-107105) for Chocolate Stout Cake, but just made cupcakes – since – well – I love cupcakes! So follow this recipe for them. Or I have heard you could use a Betty Crocker cake mix and just add a can of Guinness instead of the oil and water? I am going to try that next year and will report back!

Icing Ingredients:

4 Cups Icing Sugar
3/4 Cup Butter, softened
1/4 Cup Bailey’s Original Liquor
2-3 Tablespoons Milk
1 Teaspoon Mint Extract
Green food colouring

Icing Directions:

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl with a hand mixer. Add food colouring until you get the colour you were looking for! Pipe onto your cooled cupcakes and lick the bowl clean – watching out you don’t catch a little buzz! Enjoy!

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

One response »

  1. Mmm so good. When I make it I use 1/4 of Baileys for the icing and another 1/2 a cup for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

