RSS Feed

Mixed Berry Protein Shake

If you’re following my new blog you know my quest of competing in a fitness competition in just over nine weeks. I have my macros set at eating 125 grams of protein a day. As a vegetarian it’s not impossible, but it’s slightly trickier than those who would eat three pieces of chicken breasts a day. That being said I usually have two shakes a day. This one being my morning one. So delicious and light tasting. Crammed in with 281 calories, 29.5 grams of protein, 5 grams of fat.

Ingredients:

1 scoop of LeanFit Whey Protein in Vanilla (suitable for vegetarians — most whey protein isn’t)
5-6 frozen strawberries
1/4 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 a frozen or fresh banana
1 cup water
1 tablespoon PRANA Chia Seeds

Throw up all in the blender (shout out to my inlaws for the VITAMIX) and enjoy a delicious, cool, creamy morning protein shake.

Estimated Nutritional Value: 280 Calories, 29.5(g) Protein, 5(g) Fat

Tips:
1. Put the chia seeds and the water in the blender first and let them soak for a couple minutes while you are prepping everything else.

2. Here is a finger saving tip if you plan to freeze your bananas; Peel them BEFORE you freeze them. I did not, then tried using a steak knife (baby brain) to take the peel off. Four hours and three stitches later I have learned my lesson. Not to mention the three week set back of not being able to lift any weights 😐

Recipe is easy to double up. If mikes at home I always do – save yourself from having to share. It keeps well for a few hours, but this isn’t one to make too far in advance as it all separates, loses its smooth, fluffy and cool texture.

Note: If you aren’t following my FitFor2.ca blog with my quest of doing a bikini fitness competition, you should! I will be posting meal ideas for vegetarians that will (hopefully) take me from having a baby to being a bikini competitor in 11 months.

About Courtney Carroll

I am a mid 30s gym enthusiast; married with two girls (currently 3 years old and three months old) and a 4lb rescue Yorkie with a limp who is certain he is a 100lb Rottweiler. I am a vegetarian and have been for over five years. I love cooking, eating, working out, eating, being a mom and all the great (and not so great) things that come with it. And apparently I like blogging.

Leave a Reply

